Dog Soldiers

#ad
Mariner Books #ad - Dog Soldiers #ad - Dog soldiers perfectly captures the underground mood of America in the 1970s, when amateur drug dealers and hippies encountered profiteering cops and professional killers—and the price of survival was dangerously high. But back in the States, things go horribly wrong for him. In saigon during the waning days of the vietnam War, a small-time journalist named John Converse thinks he'll find action - and profit - by getting involved in a big-time drug deal.

#ad



A Flag for Sunrise Vintage International

#ad
Vintage #ad - An emotional, dramatic and philosophical novel about Americans drawn into a small Central American country on the brink of revolution.

#ad



Prime Green: Remembering the Sixties

#ad
HarperCollins e-books #ad - Building on personal vignettes from robert Stone's travels across America, the legendary novelist offers not only a riveting and powerful memoir but also an unforgettable inside perspective on a unique moment in American history. From the new york city of kline and de kooning to the jazz era of New Orleans's French Quarter, turbulent, Prime Green explores the 1960s in all its weird, to Ken Kesey's psychedelic California, innocent, and fascinating glory.

#ad



Cutter and Bone

#ad
Diversion Books #ad - That it was committed by the powerful tycoon JJ Wolfe only makes Cutter even surer that Bone saw the unthinkable. Captivated by cutter's demented logic, Bone is prepared to cross the country with Cutter in search of proof of the murder. A thriller, too—shows how much can be done by a writer who knows his business—the best novel of its kind in ten years!" —THE NEW YORK TIMESCutter is a scarred and crippled Vietnam veteran, Bone, obsessed with a murder he's convinced his buddy, and a whacking good thriller, witnessed.

Cutter and Bone #ad - Their quest takes them into the ozarks—home base of the Wolfe empire—where Bone discovers that Cutter is pursuing both a cold-blooded killer, but also an even bigger and more elusive enemy.

#ad



Every Man a Menace: A Novel

#ad
Atlantic Monthly Press #ad - The author of the white van delivers “everything you could want in a thriller—lightning pace, dead-on dialogue, and a twisting, high-torque plot” Award-winning author Carl Hiaasen. Now he returns with his second novel, Every Man a Menace, the inside story of a ruthless ecstasy-smuggling ring. And thousands of miles away in Bangkok, someone farther up the supply chain is about to make a phone call that will put all their lives at risk.

San francisco is about to receive the biggest delivery of MDMA to hit the West Coast in years. Patrick hoffman burst onto the crime fiction scene with The White Van, a bank heist thriller set on the back streets of San Francisco and a finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award. Raymond gaspar, just out of prison, is sent to the city to check in on the increasingly erratic dealer expected to take care of distribution.

Every Man a Menace: A Novel #ad - Stretching from the golden triangle of southeast asia to the golden Gate of San Francisco, Every Man a Menace offers “a mind-bending, attention-demanding narrative as full of shocks and surprises as an LSD party” The Wall Street Journal. In miami, the man responsible for getting the drugs across the Pacific has just met the girl of his dreams—a woman who can’t seem to keep her story straight.

#ad



Bear and His Daughter

#ad
Mariner Books #ad - The title story is a riveting account of the tangled lines that weave together the relationship of a father and his grown daughter. The stories collected in bear and his daughter span nearly thirty years - 1969 to the present - and they explore, acutely and powerfully, the humanity that unites us. In "miserere, " a widowed librarian with an unspeakable secret undertakes an unusual and grisly role in the anti-abortion crusade.

Under the pitons" is the harrowing story of a reluctant participant in a drug-running scheme and the grim and unexpected consequences of his involvement.

#ad



Children of Light Vintage Contemporaries

#ad
Vintage #ad - During the shooting of a film on the Pacific coast of Mexico, they resume a ritual struggle in which their desperate love for each other will either save or destroy them. By "one of the most impressive novelists of his generation" The New York Review of Books, indelible love story of two ravaged spirits, Children of Light is a searing, played out under the merciless, magnifying prism of Hollywood.

Children of Light Vintage Contemporaries #ad - Gordon walker, screenwriter and actor, has systematically ruined his family and his health with cocaine and alcohol. Lee verger is an actress of uncommon and unfulfilled promise, whom Gordon has known since the days when they were both young and fearless, and whose New Orleans childhood has left her with a tenuous hold on sanity.

#ad



Damascus Gate

#ad
Mariner Books #ad - A violent confrontation in the gaza strip, a mind-altering pilgrimage, hustlers, a race through riot-filled Jerusalem streets, a desperate attempt to prevent a bomb from detonating beneath the Temple Mount—Damascus Gate is an exhilarating journey through the moral and religious ambiguities that haunt the holiest of cities and its seekers, cynics, a cat-and-mouse game in an underground maze, and madmen.

With soaring vision and profound intelligence, at any price, breathtaking novel about our desperate search, Robert Stone has written a harrowing, for the consolation of redemption—and about the people who are all too willing to provide it. Set in jerusalem, heresy, ecstasy, where violence, and salvation are all to be found, Damascus Gate is simultaneously the story of a man's search for truth—or some version of it—and the story of a city where sanity is casually traded for faith.

#ad



The White Van

#ad
Atlantic Monthly Press #ad - The stuff of dashiell hammett’s best nightmares” Mark Haskell Smith, author of RAW: A Love Story—and “a gritty, exhilarating .  .  . That means finding Emily and the money before anyone else does. But a week later—drugged, disoriented and wanted for robbery—Emily finds herself on the run for her life.

Hell of a ride” the wall Street Journal, Best Book of the Year pick. Quick and scary .  .  . When a russian couple approaches her with a proposition, Emily thinks she might have found her exit. Veteran cop leo elias has heard about the unsolved bank heist, and the stolen money is too strong a temptation. Shortlisted for the cwa ian fleming steel dagger Award, The White Van “unfolds in a pulsating series of betrayals, blackmail, bad decisions, and worse luck .

The White Van #ad -  .  . It’s a plan that soon spins out of control, forcing Elias to do things that can never be undone. A series of bad investments has left him broke, alcoholic and anxious for a way out of debt. A desperate cop and a wanted woman cross paths with a dirty California underworld in a thriller “stuffed with truly shocking twists.

#ad



Power in the Blood

#ad
Open Road Media #ad - Raped by her new father, Zoe gives birth to a daughter whose vivid blue birthmark portends the gift of second sight. In 1869, the dugan siblings board an orphan train in upstate New York. Adopted by different families at separate stops along the train’s westward journey, and Drew vow to find one another as soon as they can, Clay, Zoe, but tragic circumstances conspire against them.

Siblings separated on an orphan train reunite years later to seek revenge in the lawless West in this “great novelist’s masterwork” Stephen King. Decades spent practicing the art of survival have taught the Dugans that the odds are always stacked against them—but if they stopped to consider the odds, they would have been dead long ago.

 . And drew, is rescued by renegade apache brothers and falls in with a crowd of murderers, prostitutes, abandoned in the desert by a religious fanatic, and bank robbers. When fate finally reunites the siblings, Zoe enlists Clay and Drew in a plot against a ruthless Colorado gold magnate bent on stealing her fortune.

Power in the Blood #ad - Clay avenges the brutal murder of his foster parents and becomes one of the most feared bounty hunters in the West. Hailed by the chicago tribune as a “great page-turning, stay-up-late-into-the-night-saga” and ideal for fans of Larry McMurtry and Cormac McCarthy, Power in the Blood takes readers on an epic journey into the dark heart of the American frontier.

#ad



The Wanderers: A Novel

#ad
Mariner Books #ad - The “extraordinary” novel of a teenage gang in the 1960s Bronx, by the New York Times–bestselling author of Clockers and The Whites Newsweek. The basis for the feature film, the Wanderers tells the story of teenagers on the streets of New York City, coming of age and drifting apart. A kind of teenage godfather with its own tight structure of morality, loyalty, survival, and reprisal.

Los angeles free press   “The flip side of American Graffiti .  .  . An amalgam of sex, and humor, violence, glued together with superb dialogue and unsentimental sensitivity. Rolling stone   “A superbly written book .  .  . Insights that allow us—at times force us—to feel closer to other human beings whether we like and approve of them or not.

The Wanderers: A Novel #ad - The new york Times Book Review. Tormented by cold-hearted girls and cold-blooded ten-year-olds, they are caught between juveniles and adults in a gritty novel filled with “switchblade prose” and “dialogue that has the immediacy of overheard subway conversation”—from an award-winning author renowned for his writing on HBO’s The Wire and The Night Of, maniacal rivals and murderous parents, as well as such modern-day classics as Lush Life and Bloodbrothers Newsweek.

#ad